Tap below for Sheriff’s Police Menu

Scott’s Law

Scott’s Law/ Move Over Law

Applies to drivers approaching any police or other emergency vehicle stopped along the roadway. When approaching an emergency vehicle with flashing lights, drivers are required to change lanes (if possible), reduce speed and proceed with caution.


Scott’s Law is named after Chicago Fire Department Lieutenant Scott Gillen, 37, who was killed in 2000 after responding to an early morning accident on the Bishop Ford Freeway.

Firefighters, paramedics and Illinois State Police were tending to a two-car crash in the southbound lanes of the Bishop Ford when a speeding car tried to slip by traffic and struck Gillen.

3 Troopers were killed in 2019 alone. So far in 2021, crashes are outpacing the previous years.


Stronger enforcement and penalties went into effect January 1, 2020.

  • The minimum fine for violating Scott’s Law is $250 for the first violation, and $750 for the second violation.
  • Drivers  may be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail, if the violation results in damage to another vehicle.
  • For cases in which the violation results in the injury or death of another person, drivers can be charged with a Class 4 felony, punishable by 1 – 3 years in prison.
  • The Scott’s Law Fund was created to educate motorists on the importance of Scott’s Law.  That is a $250 assessment fee for any violation of Scott’s Law.
  • The Illinois Secretary of State  is  required to include at least one question about Scott’s Law on the written driving test.

Learn more here

2020 Move Over Task Force Report