Tap below for Sheriff’s Police Menu

Sheriff’s Police

By Illinois statute, the Sheriff in each county having more than one million inhabitants shall maintain a County Police Department division (55 ILCS 5/3-7001). At present in Illinois, only Cook County meets that statutory standard.

The Cook County Sheriff’s Police Department is the third largest police department in the State of Illinois, with more than 500 officers. The Police Department is commanded by the Chief Public Safety Officer and is divided into five principal Commands:

  1. Field Operations Command – Patrol (DUI specialists, Truck/Traffic Unit, Court Officers, Community Safety Team), Crossing Guards, Emergency Services, Air Support, School Safety Program, and Police Training Academy.
  2. Criminal Investigations Command – Detectives, Crime Scene Investigators (CSI), Evidence and Recovered Property, and Special Victims (Vice, Human Trafficking, Child Protection Unit, Forensic Services).
  3. Street Crimes Command – Narcotics, Street Crime Suppression, Gun Suppression Team, Tech Unit, and Extraditions.
  4. Communication Operations Command – E-911 and Radio Dispatch, 24-hour Warrant Desk.
  5. Operational Support Command – Records Section, Asset Forfeiture, Impounds and Tows, Alarm Permits, Extra-Duty Programs.

The Department’s more than 100 civilian personnel are primarily Telecommunicators in the consolidated E-911 Center, which serves all unincorporated Cook County, Berkeley, Blue Island, Dixmoor, Ford Heights, Gold, Harvey, Hometown, Indian Head Park, Lyons, Merrionette Park, Metra commuter rail system (covers six counties, into Wisconsin), Northlake, Palos Park, Park Ridge, Phoenix, and Robbins.

The Department’s primary responsibility, as mandated by the Illinois State Constitution, is to provide police services to the 115,000 residents in the unincorporated areas of the County. The approximately 15% of Cook County, Illinois that is unincorporated lies interspersed among the 131 incorporated municipalities within its 946 square miles of land area.

Additionally, the Sheriff’s Police has several specialized units that provide services to suburban police departments on a mutual aid basis. Please use the menu to explore them.

District office locations:

2121 West Euclid Avenue
Rolling Meadows, Illinois 60008

2121 West Euclid Avenue
Rolling Meadows, Illinois 60008

POLICE HEADQUARTERS (formerly District 4)
1401 S. Maybrook Drive
Maywood, Illinois 60153

10220 South 76th Avenue
Bridgeview, Illinois 60455

16501 South Kedzie Parkway
Markham, Illinois 60426

We thank all of our Sheriff’s police officers for their dedication and for their service. We will always honor and remember those who gave the ultimate sacrifice.

Our Sheriff’s police officers were able to pay their respects to all fallen officers along with other departments from around the country at Police Week in October 2021.

Statutory Mandates

55 ILCS 5/3-6021 – Conservator of the peace.
55 ILCS 5/3-7001 – Maintenance of county police department.
Ord. No. 12-O-62, 11-9-2012 – Gambling machine tax, enforcement.
Ord. No. 15-6469, 11-18-2015 –  Ammunition Tax Ordinance, enforcement.
725 ILCS 5/107-16 – Apprehension of offender.
730 ILCS 148 – Arsonist Registration Act.
730 ILCS 150 – Sex Offender Registration Act.
730 ILCS 154 – Murderer and Violent Offender Against Youth Act.
730 ILCS 152/120(a-2) – Sex Offender Community Notification Law.
55 ILCS 5/3-6019 – Serve and executive warrants.
County Code Ch. 58 – Offenses and miscellaneous provisions (e.g., public safety, lost/stolen/destroyed/transferred firearms).