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Practice Social Distancing
Pursuant to Executive Order 2020-32 (Stay at Home Order), your employer must comply, to the greatest extent feasible, with 
social distancing requirements. This means that your employer should:

•	 Make sure that you can maintain at least 6 feet of physical separation between yourself and others around you, 
including your co-workers and customers.

•	 Mark with signage or tape 6-foot spacing for employees and customers to maintain appropriate distance from one 
another.

•	 Provide face coverings to employees, especially when it is not possible to maintain at least 6 feet of space between you 
and another person.

•	 Provide handwashing stations with soap, clean water, and single use paper towels and encourage frequent handwashing 
for 20 seconds or longer.

•	 Provide hand sanitizer (with at least 60% alcohol) & sanitizing products for employees and customers.

•	 Regularly clean high-touch surfaces including doorknobs, light switches, shared equipment, toilet handles, sink faucets, 
and clock in/out areas.

Do Not Work if You Are Sick
You should not report to work if you are experiencing symptoms of Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19), including fever (100.4° or 
above), cough, shortness of breath, sore throat, chest tightness, extreme fatigue, loss of sense of taste or smell, diarrhea, muscle 
aches, or headaches.

If you are experiencing any of these symptoms, stay home and call your doctor.

Who You Can Contact if You Have Concerns About Social Distancing in Your Workplace
If you have concerns that your employer is not allowing for safe social distancing or that it is not maintaining a safe and sanitary 
work environment to minimize the risk of spread of COVID-19, please contact the Workplace Rights Bureau of the Illinois 
Attorney General’s Office at 844-740-5076 or workplacerights@atg.state.il.us.

If you believe that two or more employees at your workplace have COVID-19, please notify your local public health department. 
A list of local health departments can be found here: 
http://www.idph.state.il.us/IDPHPrograms/v_LHDDirectory/Show-V-LHDDirectory-Public.aspx.

Pursuant to Section 25(b) of the Whistleblower Protection Act, 740 ILCS 174, businesses are prohibited from retaliating against 
an employee for disclosing information when the employee has reasonable cause to believe that the information discloses a 
violation of a state or federal law, rule, or regulation.

For more information about COVID-19, including ways to protect yourself and others, visit the Illinois Department of Public 
Health’s COVID-19 website: https://www.dph.illinois.gov/covid19.

Office of the Illinois 
Attorney General



   
Version 1.0 (5.1.2020)  

 
The 23(g) State Plan is funded by a federal grant which constitutes fifty percent of the overall budget. Fifty percent is financed by State funds. The 21(d) On-Site Consultation 

Cooperative Agreement is funded by a federal grant which constitutes ninety percent of the overall budget. Ten percent is financed by State funds. 

 

 

 

 

 

POSTING FOR PUBLIC SECTOR EMPLOYERS 

 

 

 

 

 

• Make sure that you can maintain at least 6 feet of physical separation between yourself and others around 
you, including your co-workers and anyone entering the facility. 

• Mark with signage or tape 6-foot spacing for employees and those who enter the facility to maintain 
appropriate distance from one another. 

• Provide face coverings to employees, especially when it is not possible to maintain at least 6 feet of space 
between you and another person. 

• Provide handwashing stations with soap, clean water, and single use paper towels and encourage frequent 
handwashing for 20 seconds or longer. 

• Provide hand sanitizer (with at least 60% alcohol) & sanitizing products for employees and those who enter 
the facility. 

• Regularly clean high-touch surfaces including doorknobs, light switches, shared equipment, toilet handles, 
sink faucets, and clock in/out areas. 

 

Do Not Work if You Are Sick 
You should not report to work if you are experiencing symptoms of Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19), including 
fever (100.4° or above), cough, shortness of breath, sore throat, chest tightness, extreme fatigue, loss of sense 
of taste or smell, diarrhea, muscle aches, or headaches.  
 

If you are experiencing any of these symptoms, stay home and call your doctor.  
 

Who to Contact if You Have Safety and Health Concerns in Your Workplace 
If you have concerns that your employer is not maintaining a safe and sanitary work environment to minimize 
the spread of COVID-19, please contact Illinois OSHA at 217-782-9386 or dol.safety@illinois.gov. 
 

If you believe that two or more employees at your workplace have COVID-19, please notify your local public 
health department. A list of local health departments can be found here: 
http://www.idph.state.il.us/IDPHPrograms/v_LHDDirectory/Show-V-LHDDirectory-Public.aspx. 
 

Pursuant to Section 110 of the Illinois Occupational Safety and Health Act, 820 ILCS 219, employers are 
prohibited from retaliating against an employee for disclosing information when the employee has reasonable 
cause to believe that the information discloses a violation of a state or federal law, rule or regulation. 
 

For more information about COVID-19, including ways to protect yourself and others, visit the Illinois 
Department of Public Health’s COVID-19 website: https://www.dph.illinois.gov/covid19. 

JB Pritzker, Governor Michael Kleinik, Director 

The novel coronavirus (officially called COVID-19) is believed to spread from person-to-
person (those within six feet), primarily through respiratory droplets. The virus is also 
believed to spread by people touching a surface or object and then touching one’s 
mouth, nose, or possibly the eyes. 
 

Pursuant to Executive Order 2020-32 (Stay at Home Order), your employer must comply 
with the following requirements to help prevent exposure to coronavirus: 

COVID-19 Workplace Health and Safety Guidance for  
State, Local and Municipal Government Employees 

May 1, 2020 
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ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
REQUIRED POSTING FOR DAY AND TEMPORARY 

LABOR SERVICE AGENCIES 

The Day and Temporary Labor Services Act (820 ILCS 175/1 et seq) provides for the regulation of day and temporary labor agencies, establishes 
worker rights and protections, specifies the duties and responsibilities of day and temporary labor agencies and third party clients, sets forth 
penalties and enforcement procedures for violations of the law and requires third party clients that contract with day or temporary labor agencies to 
verify that they are registered with the Department of Labor or face monetary penalties.  The following is a summary of the law, however the Act 
contains additional information that may affect individual cases or claims.  For more information on this Act and other laws we enforce, please visit 
our website at:  www.state.il.us/agency/idol.

Registration
Day and temporary labor agencies located in or transacting business in Illinois must register with the Illinois Department of Labor, provide proof of 
required unemployment insurance contributions and valid workers’ compensation insurance and report any lapse in workers’ compensation 
coverage to the Department.  Registered agencies are listed on the Department’s website at: www.state.il.us/agency/idol/listings/dlagency.htm

Every agency must post in the public access area of each work location or branch office a notice provided by the Department of Labor summarizing 
the provisions of this Act, along with the toll-free number for reporting violations and complaints.  This notice shall be in English or any other 
language generally understood in the locale of the agency.  Agencies must also post in public access areas any other state or federally mandated 
postings.

Required Notices to Employees
Day and temporary labor service agencies must provide workers with an employment notice at the time of dispatch, describing the terms and 
conditions of their employment, including the nature of work to be performed, the wages to be paid, the name, address and location of where the 
work will be performed, terms of transportation and whether meals or equipment will be provided and any costs associated with such meals and 
equipment.

Day and temporary labor service agencies must also provide each worker with a wage notice at the time of payment that includes the name 
address and telephone number of each third party client for whom work was performed; the number of hours worked by the laborer at each third 
party client each day during the pay period; the rate of pay for all hours worked, including any premium or bonus pay; total earnings during the pay 
period; and all deductions made for meals, equipment, income tax and social security withholdings and any other deductions.  

For workers contracted to work a single day, third party clients must provide workers with a work verification form at the end of the work day that 
contains the date, worker’s name, work location and hours worked that day. 

A worker who is sent by the agency to a third party client, but is then not utilized by that client must be paid a minimum of four hours of pay at the 
agreed upon rate by the day and temporary labor agency.  However, if that worker is given work during the same shift at another location, he or she 
shall be paid for two hours of pay at the agreed upon rate of pay (in addition to the pay for hours worked during that shift). 

Wages and Deductions
The wages paid to day laborers must be in compliance with all state and federal laws, including minimum wage and overtime laws and the total 
amount deducted for meals and equipment may not cause a worker’s hourly wage to fall below the state or federal minimum wage.  Agencies
cannot make deductions from a worker’s paycheck unless the worker approves the deductions in writing on a form approved by the Department and 
agencies may not charge workers for cashing paychecks issued by their agency. 

Recordkeeping Requirements
Day and temporary labor service agencies must keep and maintain for a period of three years detailed records relating to every day laborer’s work 
and these records must be open to inspection by the Department of Labor during normal business hours.  In addition, records relating to an 
individual worker and any hours billed to third party clients for his or her labor must be available for review or copying by the worker within 5 days 
following a written request. 

Transportation
Day and temporary labor agencies, third party clients (and their contractors or agents) are prohibited from charging workers for transportation 
between the agency and the designated worksite.  Agencies, third party clients (and their contractors or agents) are responsible for the conduct and 
performance of persons providing transportation and drivers must have a valid and appropriate motor vehicle license, proof of financial responsibility 
as well as seats and safety belts for every passenger.  Any violations of these requirements discovered by the Department shall be forwarded to 
appropriate law enforcement or regulatory agencies. 

Placement Fee Restrictions
Day and temporary labor agencies cannot restrict the right of a laborer to accept a permanent position with a third party client to whom they have 
been referred for work.  They also cannot restrict the right of third party clients to offer employment to a day and temporary laborer, however day 
and temporary labor agencies may charge limited placement fees to third party clients who offer employment to day laborers. 

Worker Retaliation Prohibited/Private Right of Action
Day and temporary labor agencies and third party clients are prohibited from retaliating against workers for exercising their rights, including making 
a complaint, testifying or participating in an investigation under this Act.  Any retaliation taken against a worker in violation of this Act shall be 
subject to civil penalties or a private cause of action.  In addition to administrative remedies available through the Illinois Department of Labor, a 
person aggrieved by any violation of this Act may file suit in Illinois circuit court. 

To report violations or make a complaint,

call our toll-free hotline at: 

1-877-314-7052
Printed by the Authority of the State of Illinois   W.O. 120905   1000 copies 12/05 



DISPLACED 
EMPLOYEE RIGHTS 

ON SUCCESSOR CONTRACTS

UNDER EXECUTIVE ORDER 13495 
AND THE SERVICE CONTRACT ACT

202-693-1399
displaced@dol.gov
www.dol.gov/whd

WH1503  REV 10/17

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

The contract for [_____________________________] services currently performed by [_____________________________]

has been awarded to a new (successor) contractor [_____________________________]. The new contractor’s first date 

of performance on the contract will be [_____________________________]. 

If the work is to be performed at the same location, the new contractor is generally required to offer employment to 
the employees who worked on the contract during the last 30 days of the current contract, except as follows:

•	 Employees who will not be laid off or discharged as a result of the new contract award are not entitled to an 
offer of employment.

•	 Managerial, supervisory, or non-service employees on the current contract are not entitled to an offer of 
employment.

•	 The new contractor may reduce the size of the current workforce; therefore, only a portion of the existing 
workforce may receive employment offers. However, the new contractor must offer employment to the 
displaced employees for which they are qualified if any openings occur during the first 90 days of performance 
on the new contract.

•	 The new contractor may employ its current employee on the new contract before offering employment to 
the existing contractor’s employees only if the new contractor’s current employee has worked for the new 
contractor for at least 3 months immediately preceding the first date of performance on the new contract and 
would otherwise face layoff or discharge if not employed under the new contract.

•	 Where the new contractor has reason to believe, based on written credible information from a knowledgeable 
source, that an employee’s job performance while working on the current contract has been unsuitable, the 
employee is not entitled to an offer of employment on the new contract.

•	 An employee hired to work under the current Federal service contract and one or more nonfederal service 
contracts as part of a single job is not entitled to an offer of employment on the new contract, provided that 
the existing contractor did not deploy the employee in a manner that was designed to avoid the purposes of 
Executive Order 13495.

Time limit to accept offer: If you are offered employment on the new contract, you will have at least 10 days to 
accept the offer.

Complaints: Any employee(s) or authorized employee representative(s) of the predecessor contractor who believes 
that he or she is entitled to an offer of employment with the new contractor and who has not received an offer, 
may file a complaint, within 120 days from the first date of contract performance, with the Branch of Government 
Contracts Enforcement, Wage and Hour Division, U.S. Department of Labor, Washington, DC 20210. You may file a 
complaint or seek additional information using the contact information below.



“EEO is the Law” Poster Supplement 
Employers Holding Federal Contracts or Subcontracts Section Revisions

The Executive Order 11246 section is revised as follows: 

RACE, COLOR, RELIGION, SEX, SEXUAL ORIENTATION, GENDER IDENTITY, NATIONAL ORIGIN

Executive Order 11246, as amended, prohibits employment discrimination based on race, color, religion,  
sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, or national origin, and requires affirmative action to ensure equality 
of opportunity in all aspects of employment.

PAY SECRECY

Executive Order 11246, as amended, protects applicants and employees from discrimination based on inquiring 
about, disclosing, or discussing their compensation or the compensation of other applicants or employees.

The Individuals with Disabilities section is revised as follows: 

INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES 

Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, protects qualified individuals with disabilities  
from discrimination in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral,  
and other aspects of employment.  Disability discrimination includes not making reasonable accommodation 
to the known physical or mental limitations of an otherwise qualified individual with a disability who is an  
applicant or employee, barring undue hardship to the employer.  Section 503 also requires that Federal  
contractors take affirmative action to employ and advance in employment qualified individuals with  
disabilities at all levels of employment, including the executive level. 

The Vietnam Era, Special Disabled Veterans section is revised as follows: 

PROTECTED VETERANS 

The Vietnam Era Veterans’ Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974, as amended, 38 U.S.C. 4212, prohibits   
employment discrimination against, and requires affirmative action to recruit, employ, and advance in  
employment, disabled veterans, recently separated veterans (i.e., within three years of discharge or release  
from active duty), active duty wartime or campaign badge veterans, or Armed Forces service medal veterans. 

Mandatory Supplement to EEOC P/E-1(Revised 11/09) “EEO is the Law” Poster.

If you believe that you have experienced discrimination contact OFCCP: 1-800-397-6251 | TTY 1-877-889-5627 | www.dol.gov.

http://www.dol.gov


             
         

           
          

        
        

               
           

         
        

           
            

           
         

         
          

         
          

          
           

    

           
          

       

              
               

Equal Employment Opportunity is


THE LAW
	
Private Employers, State and Local Governments, Educational Institutions, Employment Agencies and Labor Organizations
�

Applicants to and employees of most private employers, state and local governments, educational institutions, 

employment agencies and labor organizations are protected under Federal law from discrimination on the following bases:
�

RACE, COLOR, RELIGION, SEX, NATIONAL ORIGIN 
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, protects applicants and 
employees from discrimination in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, 
job training, classification, referral, and other aspects of employment, on the basis 
of race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), or national origin. Religious 
discrimination includes failing to reasonably accommodate an employee’s religious 
practices where the accommodation does not impose undue hardship. 

DISABILITY 
Title I and Title V of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended, protect 
qualified individuals from discrimination on the basis of disability in hiring, promotion, 
discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, and other 
aspects of employment. Disability discrimination includes not making reasonable 
accommodation to the known physical or mental limitations of an otherwise qualified 
individual with a disability who is an applicant or employee, barring undue hardship. 

AGE 
The Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, as amended, protects 
applicants and employees 40 years of age or older from discrimination based on 
age in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, 
referral, and other aspects of employment. 

SEX (WAGES) 
In addition to sex discrimination prohibited by Title VII of the Civil Rights Act, as 
amended, the Equal Pay Act of 1963, as amended, prohibits sex discrimination in 
the payment of wages to women and men performing substantially equal work, 
in jobs that require equal skill, effort, and responsibility, under similar working 
conditions, in the same establishment. 

GENETICS 
Title II of the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 protects applicants 
and employees from discrimination based on genetic information in hiring, 
promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, and 
other aspects of employment. GINA also restricts employers’ acquisition of genetic 
information and strictly limits disclosure of genetic information. Genetic information 
includes information about genetic tests of applicants, employees, or their family 
members; the manifestation of diseases or disorders in family members (family 
medical history); and requests for or receipt of genetic services by applicants, 
employees, or their family members. 

RETALIATION 
All of these Federal laws prohibit covered entities from retaliating against a 
person who files a charge of discrimination, participates in a discrimination 
proceeding, or otherwise opposes an unlawful employment practice. 

WHAT TO DO IF YOU BELIEVE DISCRIMINATION HAS OCCURRED 
There are strict time limits for filing charges of employment discrimination. To 
preserve the ability of EEOC to act on your behalf and to protect your right to file a 
private lawsuit, should you ultimately need to, you should contact EEOC promptly 
when discrimination is suspected: 
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), 1-800-669-4000 
(toll-free) or 1-800-669-6820 (toll-free TTY number for individuals with hearing 
impairments). EEOC field office information is available at www.eeoc.gov or 
in most telephone directories in the U.S. Government or Federal Government 
section. Additional information about EEOC, including information about charge 
filing, is available at www.eeoc.gov. 



      
     
           

          
         

               
            

            
       

             
         

           
        

           

           
              
          
            

       

 

 

Employers Holding Federal Contracts or Subcontracts 

Applicants to and employees of companies with a Federal government contract or subcontract 
are protected under Federal law from discrimination on the following bases: 

RACE, COLOR, RELIGION, SEX, NATIONAL ORIGIN 
Executive Order 11246, as amended, prohibits job discrimination on the basis 
of race, color, religion, sex or national origin, and requires affirmative action to 
ensure equality of opportunity in all aspects of employment. 

INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES 
Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, protects qualified 
individuals from discrimination on the basis of disability in hiring, promotion, 
discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, and 
other aspects of employment. Disability discrimination includes not making 
reasonable accommodation to the known physical or mental limitations of an 
otherwise qualified individual with a disability who is an applicant or employee, 
barring undue hardship.  Section 503 also requires that Federal contractors take 
affirmative action to employ and advance in employment qualified individuals 
with disabilities at all levels of employment, including the executive level. 

DISABLED, RECENTLY SEPARATED, OTHER PROTECTED, 
AND ARMED FORCES SERVICE MEDAL VETERANS 
The Vietnam Era Veterans’ Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974, as amended, 38 
U.S.C. 4212, prohibits job discrimination and requires affirmative action to employ 
and advance in employment disabled veterans, recently separated veterans (within 

three years of discharge or release from active duty), other protected veterans 
(veterans who served during a war or in a campaign or expedition for which a 
campaign badge has been authorized), and Armed Forces service medal veterans 
(veterans who, while on active duty, participated in a U.S. military operation for 
which an Armed Forces service medal was awarded). 

RETALIATION 
Retaliation is prohibited against a person who files a complaint of discrimination, 
participates in an OFCCP proceeding, or otherwise opposes discrimination 
under these Federal laws. 

Any person who believes a contractor has violated its nondiscrimination or 
affirmative action obligations under the authorities above should contact 
immediately: 

The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP), U.S. 
Department of Labor, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 
20210, 1-800-397-6251 (toll-free) or (202) 693-1337 (TTY).  OFCCP may also be 
contacted by e-mail at OFCCP-Public@dol.gov, or by calling an OFCCP regional 
or district office, listed in most telephone directories under U.S. Government, 
Department of Labor. 

Programs or Activities Receiving Federal Financial Assistance 

RACE, COLOR, NATIONAL ORIGIN, SEX INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES 
In addition to the protections of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, prohibits employment 
amended, Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in any program or activity which receives 
discrimination on the basis of race, color or national origin in programs or Federal financial assistance. Discrimination is prohibited in all aspects of 
activities receiving Federal financial assistance. Employment discrimination employment against persons with disabilities who, with or without reasonable 
is covered by Title VI if the primary objective of the financial assistance is accommodation, can perform the essential functions of the job. 
provision of employment, or where employment discrimination causes or may 

If you believe you have been discriminated against in a program of any cause discrimination in providing services under such programs. Title IX of the 
institution which receives Federal financial assistance, you should immediately Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits employment discrimination on the 
contact the Federal agency providing such assistance. basis of sex in educational programs or activities which receive Federal financial 

assistance. 

EEOC 9/02 and OFCCP 8/08 Versions Useable With 11/09 Supplement EEOC-P/E-1 (Revised 11/09) 



State of Illinois
Illinois Department of Public Health 

Emergency Care for

If victim CAN breathe,
cough or make sounds,
DO NOT INTERFERE.

If victim CANNOT breathe,
cough or make sounds, 

ask if you can help.

Open the airway and check
the mouth for objects.

Remove the obstructing
object only if you see it.

Give 30 compressions pushing
down AT LEAST 2 inches on the

center of the chest Place one hand
on top of the other. Push hard.

• Have someone call for an ambulance, rescue squad or EMS.
• DO NOT PRACTICE ON PEOPLE. Abdominal thrusts may cause injury. 
• Use back blows and chest thrust on infants. Use chest thrust on pregnant women

and obese victims. 
• For children 1 to 8 years of age, compress at the depth of approximately 2 inches.
• Learn to perform emergency care for choking and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).
• For CPR training information, call your local American Heart Association or

American Red Cross chapter.

1 2 3

Illinois Department of Public Health
Emergency Medical Systems and Highway Safety
422 S. 5th St., Third Floor
Springfield, IL 62701  •  217-785-2080

Standards for CPR and ECC are consistent with

American Heart Association recommendations.

IOCI 14-210

Give quick upward
thrusts above the
belly button and

below the ribs until
object is forced out,

victim can breathe
again, or victim

becomes unconscious

Repeat steps 1, 2 and 3 until victim starts breathing or until emergency medical help arrives.

Send someone to call 911 and get the Automated External Defibrillator (AED).
IF YOU ARE ALONE, perform 5 sets of 30 compressions and 2 breaths before 

leaving to call 911. Follow these steps.

With the airway open,
attempt to give TWO breaths.

If unsuccessful, return to
compressions.

CONSCIOUS VICTIM
CHOKING

UNCONSCIOUS VICTIM



FEDERAL EMPLOYEE RIGHTS
PAID SICK LEAVE AND EXPANDED FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE
UNDER THE FAMILIES FIRST CORONAVIRUS RESPONSE ACT

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

WH1423  REV 03/20

1.	 is subject to a Federal, State, or local quarantine or 
isolation order related to COVID-19;

2.	 has been advised by a health care provider to  
self-quarantine related to COVID-19;

3.	 is experiencing COVID-19 symptoms and is seeking  
a medical diagnosis;

4.	 is caring for an individual subject to an order described in 
(1) or self-quarantine as described in (2);

► ENFORCEMENT
The U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (WHD) has the authority to investigate and enforce compliance with the 
FFCRA for Federal employers covered under Title I of the FMLA. Employers may not discharge, discipline, or otherwise discriminate 
against any employee who lawfully takes paid sick leave or expanded family and medical leave under the FFCRA, files a complaint, 
or institutes a proceeding under or related to this Act. Federal employers covered under Title I of the FMLA in violation of the 
provisions of the FFCRA will be subject to penalties and enforcement by WHD. 

5.	 is caring for his or her child whose school or place of 
care is closed (or child care provider is unavailable) 
due to COVID-19 related reasons; or

6.	 is experiencing any other substantially-similar 
condition specified by the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services.

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA or Act) requires the Federal government to provide all of its employees 
with paid sick leave and, for employees who are covered under Title I of the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), with expanded 
family and medical leave for specified reasons related to COVID-19. These provisions will apply from April 1, 2020 through 
December 31, 2020.    

► PAID LEAVE ENTITLEMENTS
Generally, the Federal government must provide Federal employees:
Up to two weeks (80 hours, or a part-time employee’s two-week equivalent) of paid sick leave based on the higher of their regular 
rate of pay, or the applicable state or Federal minimum wage, paid at:

•	 100% for qualifying reasons #1-3 below, up to $511 daily and $5,110 total; and 
•	 2/3 for qualifying reasons #4 and 6 below, up to $200 daily and $2,000 total.

Federal employees including those not covered under Title I of the FMLA can receive either 2/3 of the higher of their regular 
rate of pay, or the applicable state or Federal minimum wage for the two-week period for qualifying reason #5 below. However, 
for leave under qualifying reason #5, Federal employees covered under Title I of the FMLA can receive 10 additional weeks of 
expanded family and medical leave for reason #5 below, up to $200 daily and $12,000 total.  
A part-time employee is eligible for leave for the number of hours that the employee is normally scheduled to work over that period.

► ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES
All Federal employees are eligible for up to two weeks of fully or partially paid sick leave for COVID-19 related reasons (see below). 
Federal employees who are covered under Title I of the FMLA and have been employed for at least 30 days prior to their leave 
request are eligible for up to an additional 10 weeks of partially paid expanded family and medical leave for reason #5 below.
Most federal employees are not covered under Title I of the FMLA and so would not be eligible for partially paid expanded family 
and medical leave. Please consult with your agency to determine whether you are covered under Title I of the FMLA. The Office of 
Personnel and Management will issue guidance on this question. 

► QUALIFYING REASONS FOR LEAVE RELATED TO COVID-19 
A Federal employee is entitled to take leave related to COVID-19 if the employee is unable to work, including unable to telework, 
because the employee:

For additional information  
or to file a complaint:

1-866-487-9243
TTY: 1-877-889-5627

dol.gov/agencies/whd

http://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd


WORKERS WITH 
DISABILITIES

Subminimum wages under section 14(c) are not applicable unless a worker’s disability actually impairs the 
worker’s earning or productive capacity for the work being performed. The fact that a worker may have a 
disability is not in and of itself sufficient to warrant the payment of a subminimum wage.

For purposes of payment of commensurate wage rates under a certificate, a worker with a disability is defined 
as: An individual whose earnings or productive capacity is impaired by a physical or mental disability, including 
those related to age or injury, for the work to be performed.

Disabilities which may affect productive capacity include an intellectual or developmental disability, psychiatric 
disability, a hearing or visual impairment, and certain other impairments. The following do not ordinarily affect 
productive capacity for purposes of paying commensurate wage rates: educational disabilities; chronic 
unemployment; receipt of welfare benefits; nonattendance at school; juvenile delinquency; and correctional 
parole or probation.

WORKER NOTIFICATION Each worker with a disability and, where appropriate, the parent or guardian of such worker, shall be informed 
orally and in writing by the employer of the terms of the certificate under which such worker is employed.

KEY ELEMENTS OF 
COMMENSURATE  
WAGE RATES

•	 Nondisabled worker standard—The objective gauge (usually a time study of the production of workers 
who do not have disabilities that impair their productivity for the job) against which the productivity of a 
worker with a disability is measured.

•	 Prevailing wage rate—The wage paid to experienced workers who do not have disabilities that impair their 
productivity for the same or similar work and who are performing such work in the area. Most SCA contracts 
include a wage determination specifying the prevailing wage rates to be paid for SCA-covered work.

•	 Evaluation of the productivity of the worker with a disability—Documented measurement of the 
production of the worker with a disability (in terms of quantity and quality).

The wages of all workers paid commensurate wages must be reviewed, and adjusted if appropriate, at periodic 
intervals. At a minimum, the productivity of hourly-paid workers must be reevaluated at least every six months 
and a new prevailing wage survey must be conducted at least once every twelve months. In addition, prevailing 
wages must be reviewed, and adjusted as appropriate, whenever there is a change in the job or a change in the 
prevailing wage rate, such as when the applicable state or federal minimum wage is increased.

WIOA The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014 (WIOA) amended the Rehabilitation Act by adding 
section 511, which places limitations on the payment of subminimum wages to individuals with disabilities by 
mandating the completion of certain requirements prior to and during the payment of a subminimum wage.

EXECUTIVE ORDER 
13658

Executive Order 13658, Establishing a Minimum Wage for Contractors, established a minimum wage that 
generally must be paid to workers performing on or in connection with a covered contract with the Federal 
Government. Workers covered by this Executive Order and due the full Executive Order minimum wage include 
workers with disabilities whose wages are calculated pursuant to certificates issued under section 14(c) of the 
FLSA.

FRINGE BENEFITS Neither the FLSA nor the PCA have provisions requiring vacation, holiday, or sick pay nor other fringe benefits 
such as health insurance or pension plans. SCA wage determinations may require such fringe benefit payments 
(or a cash equivalent). Workers paid under a certificate authorizing commensurate wage rates must receive the 
full fringe benefits listed on the SCA wage determination.

OVERTIME Generally, if a worker is performing work subject to the FLSA, SCA, and/or PCA, that worker must be paid at 
least 1 1/2 times their regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

CHILD LABOR Minors younger than 18 years of age must be employed in accordance with the child labor provisions of the 
FLSA. No persons under 16 years of age may be employed in manufacturing or on a PCA contract.

PETITION PROCESS Workers with disabilities paid at subminimum wages may petition the Administrator of the Wage and Hour 
Division of the Department of Labor for a review of their wage rates by an Administrative Law Judge. No 
particular form of petition is required, except that it must be signed by the worker with a disability or his or her 
parent or guardian and should contain the name and address of the employer. Petitions should be mailed to: 
Administrator, Wage and Hour Division, U.S. Department of Labor, Room S-3502, 200 Constitution Avenue NW, 
Washington, D.C. 20210.

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS 
FOR WORKERS WITH DISABILITIES 

PAID AT SUBMINIMUM WAGES

1-866-487-9243
TTY: 1-877-889-5627

www.dol.gov/whd
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This establishment has a certificate authorizing the payment of subminimum wages to workers who are disabled for the work they are performing. 
Authority to pay subminimum wages to workers with disabilities generally applies to work covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), 
McNamara-O’Hara Service Contract Act (SCA), and/or Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act (PCA). Such subminimum wages are referred to as 
“commensurate wage rates” and are less than the basic hourly rates stated in an SCA wage determination and/or less than the FLSA minimum wage 
of $7.25 per hour. A “commensurate wage rate” is based on the worker’s individual productivity, no matter how limited, in proportion to the wage and 
productivity of experienced workers who do not have disabilities that impact their productivity when performing essentially the same type, quality, and 
quantity of work in the geographic area from which the labor force of the community is drawn.

Employers shall make this poster available and display it where employees and the parents and guardians of workers with disabilities can readily see it.



MINIMUM WAGES Your rate must be no less than the federal minimum wage 
established by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

A higher rate may be required for SCA contracts if a wage 
determination applies. Such wage determination will be posted as 
an attachment to this notice.

FRINGE BENEFITS SCA wage determinations may require fringe benefit payments (or a 
cash equivalent). PCA contracts do not require fringe benefits.

OVERTIME PAY You must be paid 1.5 times your basic rate of pay for all hours 
worked over 40 in a week. There are some exceptions.

CHILD LABOR No person under 16 years of age may be employed on a PCA 
contract.

SAFETY & HEALTH Work must be performed under conditions that are sanitary, and not 
hazardous or dangerous to employees’ health and safety.

ENFORCEMENT Specific DOL agencies are responsible for the administration of 
these laws. To file a complaint or obtain information, contact the 
Wage and Hour Division (WHD) by calling its toll-free help line at 
1-866-4-USWAGE (1-866-487-9243), or visit www.dol.gov/whd

Contact the Occupational Safety and Health Administration 
(OSHA) by calling 1-800-321-OSHA (1-800-321-6742), or visit 
www.osha.gov

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS 
ON GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS
THIS ESTABLISHMENT IS PERFORMING GOVERNMENT CONTRACT WORK SUBJECT TO: 
(CHECK ONE)

■	SERVICE CONTRACT ACT (SCA)
■	PUBLIC CONTRACTS ACT (PCA)

1-866-487-9243
TTY: 1-877-889-5627

www.dol.gov/whd
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U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
The purpose of the discussion below is to advise contractors which are subject to the Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act or the Service Contract Act of 
the principal provisions of these acts.

WALSH-HEALEY PUBLIC CONTRACTS ACT
General Provisions—This act applies to contracts which exceed or may exceed $10,000 entered into by any agency or 
instrumentality of the United States for the manufacture or furnishing of materials, supplies, articles, or equipment. The act 
establishes minimum wage, maximum hours, and safety and health standards for work on such contracts, and prohibits the 
employment on contract work of convict labor (unless certain conditions are met) and children under 16 years of age. The 
employment of homeworkers (except homeworkers with disabilities employed under the provisions of Regulations, 29 CFR Part 
525) on a covered contract is not permitted.
In addition to its coverage of prime contractors, the act under certain circumstances applies to secondary contractors 
performing work under contracts awarded by the Government prime contractor.

All provisions of the act except the safety and health requirements are administered by the Wage and Hour Division.

Minimum Wage—Covered employees must currently be paid not less than the Federal minimum wage established in section 
6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Overtime—Covered workers must be paid at least one and one-half times their basic rate of pay for all hours worked in excess 
of 40 a week. Overtime is due on the basis of the total hours spent in all work, Government and non-Government, performed by 
the employee in any week in which covered work is performed.

Child Labor—Employers may protect themselves against unintentional child labor violations by obtaining certificates of age. 
State employment or age certificates are acceptable.

Safety and Health—No covered work may be performed in plants, factories, buildings, or surroundings or under work 
conditions that are unsanitary or hazardous or dangerous to the health and safety of the employees engaged in the 
performance of the contract. The safety and health provisions of the Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act are administered by 
the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.

Posting—During the period that covered work is being performed on a contract subject to the act, the contractor must post 
copies of Notice to Employees Working on Government Contracts in a sufficient number of places to permit employees to 
observe a copy on the way to or from their place of employment.

Responsibility for Secondary Contractors—Prime contractors are liable for violations of the act committed by their covered 
secondary contractors.

SERVICE CONTRACT ACT
General Provisions—The Service Contract Act applies to every contract entered into by the United States or the District of 
Columbia, the principal purpose of which is to furnish services in the United States through the use of service employees. 
Contractors and subcontractors performing on such Federal contracts must observe minimum wage and safety and health 
standards, and must maintain certain records, unless a specific exemption applies.

Wages and Fringe Benefits—Every service employee performing any of the Government contract work under a service 
contract in excess of $2,500 must be paid not less than the monetary wages, and must be furnished the fringe benefits, which 
the Secretary of Labor has determined to be prevailing in the locality for the classification in which the employee is working 
or the wage rates and fringe benefits (including any accrued or prospective wage rates and fringe benefits) contained in a 
predecessor contractor's collective bargaining agreement. The wage rates and fringe benefits required are usually specified 
in the contract but in no case may employees doing work necessary for the performance of the contract be paid less than the 
minimum wage established in section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act. Service contracts which do not exceed $2,500 are 
not subject to prevailing rate determinations or to the safety and health requirements of the act. However, the act does require 
that employees performing work on such contracts be paid not less than the minimum wage rate established in section 6(a)(1) 
of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Overtime—The Fair Labor Standards Act and the Contract Work Hours Safety Standards Act may require the payment of 
overtime at time and one-half the regular rate of pay for all hours work on the contract in excess of 40 a week. The Contract 
Work Hours Safety Standards Act is more limited in scope than the Fair Labor Standards Act and generally applies to 
Government contracts in excess of $100,000 that require or involve the employment of laborers, mechanics, guards, watchmen.

Safety and Health—The act provides that no part of the services in contracts in excess of $2,500 may be performed in 
buildings or surroundings or under working conditions, provided by or under the control or supervision of the contractor or 
subcontractor, which are unsanitary or hazardous or dangerous to the health or safety of service employees engaged to furnish 
the services. The safety and health provisions of the Service Contract Act are administered by the Occupational Safety and 
Health Administration.

Notice to Employees—On the date a service employee commences work on a contract in excess of $2,500, the contractor 
(or subcontractor) must provide the employee with a notice of the compensation required by the act. The posting of the notice 
(including any applicable wage determination) contained on the reverse in a location where it may be seen by all employees 
performing on the contract will satisfy this requirement.

Notice in Subcontracts—The contractor is required to insert in all subcontracts the labor standards clauses specified by the 
regulations in 29 CFR Part 4 for Federal service contracts exceeding $2,500.

Responsibility for Secondary Contractors—Prime contractors are liable for violations of the act committed by their covered 
secondary contractors.

Other Obligations—Observance of the labor standards of these acts does not relieve the employer of any obligation he may 
have under any other laws or agreements providing for higher labor standards.

Additional Information—Additional Information and copies of the acts and applicable regulations and interpretations may be 
obtained from the nearest office of the Wage and Hour Division or the national office in Washington, D.C. Information pertaining 
to safety and health standards may be obtained from the nearest office of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration or 
the national office in Washington, D.C. WH1313  REV 04/09
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PREVAILING 
WAGES

You must be paid not less than the wage rate listed in the Davis-Bacon Wage Decision posted 
with this Notice for the work you perform.

OVERTIME You must be paid not less than one and one-half times your basic rate of pay for all hours worked 
over 40 in a work week. There are few exceptions. 

ENFORCEMENT Contract payments can be withheld to ensure workers receive wages and overtime pay due, and 
liquidated damages may apply if overtime pay requirements are not met. Davis-Bacon contract 
clauses allow contract termination and debarment of contractors from future federal contracts for 
up to three years. A contractor who falsifies certified payroll records or induces wage kickbacks 
may be subject to civil or criminal prosecution, fines and/or imprisonment. 

APPRENTICES Apprentice rates apply only to apprentices properly registered under approved Federal or State 
apprenticeship programs.

PROPER PAY If you do not receive proper pay, or require further information on the applicable wages, contact 
the Contracting Officer listed below:

or contact the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division.

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS 
UNDER THE DAVIS-BACON ACT

FOR LABORERS AND MECHANICS 

EMPLOYED ON FEDERAL OR  
FEDERALLY ASSISTED 

CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS

1-866-487-9243
TTY: 1-877-889-5627

www.dol.gov/whd
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1-866-487-9243
TTY: 1-877-889-5627

www.dol.gov/whd

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
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PROHIBITIONS Employers are generally prohibited from requiring or requesting 
any employee or job applicant to take a lie detector test, and from 
discharging, disciplining, or discriminating against an employee or 
prospective employee for refusing to take a test or for exercising other 
rights under the Act. 

EXEMPTIONS Federal, State and local governments are not affected by the law. Also, 
the law does not apply to tests given by the Federal Government to 
certain private individuals engaged in national security-related activities.

The Act permits polygraph (a kind of lie detector) tests to be administered 
in the private sector, subject to restrictions, to certain prospective 
employees of security service firms (armored car, alarm, and guard), and 
of pharmaceutical manufacturers, distributors and dispensers.

The Act also permits polygraph testing, subject to restrictions, of certain 
employees of private firms who are reasonably suspected of involvement 
in a workplace incident (theft, embezzlement, etc.) that resulted in 
economic loss to the employer.

The law does not preempt any provision of any State or local law or any 
collective bargaining agreement which is more restrictive with respect to 
lie detector tests.

EXAMINEE 
RIGHTS

Where polygraph tests are permitted, they are subject to numerous strict 
standards concerning the conduct and length of the test. Examinees 
have a number of specific rights, including the right to a written notice 
before testing, the right to refuse or discontinue a test, and the right not 
to have test results disclosed to unauthorized persons.

ENFORCEMENT The Secretary of Labor may bring court actions to restrain violations and 
assess civil penalties against violators. Employees or job applicants may 
also bring their own court actions.

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS 
EMPLOYEE POLYGRAPH PROTECTION ACT
The Employee Polygraph Protection Act 
prohibits most private employers from using 
lie detector tests either for pre-employment 
screening or during the course of employment.

THE LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS TO DISPLAY THIS POSTER 
WHERE EMPLOYEES AND JOB APPLICANTS CAN READILY SEE IT. 



EMPLOYEE RIGHTS
PAID SICK LEAVE AND EXPANDED FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE 
UNDER THE FAMILIES FIRST CORONAVIRUS RESPONSE ACT

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

WH1422  REV 03/20

For additional information  
or to file a complaint:
1-866-487-9243

TTY: 1-877-889-5627
dol.gov/agencies/whd

1.	 is subject to a Federal, State, or local quarantine or 
isolation order related to COVID-19;

2.	 has been advised by a health care provider to  
self-quarantine related to COVID-19;

3.	 is experiencing COVID-19 symptoms and is seeking  
a medical diagnosis;

4.	 is caring for an individual subject to an order described  
in (1) or self-quarantine as described in (2);

► ENFORCEMENT
The U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (WHD) has the authority to investigate and enforce compliance 
with the FFCRA. Employers may not discharge, discipline, or otherwise discriminate against any employee who 
lawfully takes paid sick leave or expanded family and medical leave under the FFCRA, files a complaint, or institutes a 
proceeding under or related to this Act. Employers in violation of the provisions of the FFCRA will be subject to penalties 
and enforcement by WHD. 

5.	 is caring for his or her child whose school or 
place of care is closed (or child care provider is 
unavailable) due to COVID-19 related reasons; or

6.	 is experiencing any other substantially-similar 
condition specified by the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services.

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA or Act) requires certain employers to provide their 
employees with paid sick leave and expanded family and medical leave for specified reasons related to COVID-19. 
These provisions will apply from April 1, 2020 through December 31, 2020.  

► PAID LEAVE ENTITLEMENTS
Generally, employers covered under the Act must provide employees: 
Up to two weeks (80 hours, or a part-time employee’s two-week equivalent) of paid sick leave based on the higher of 
their regular rate of pay, or the applicable state or Federal minimum wage, paid at:

•	 100% for qualifying reasons #1-3 below, up to $511 daily and $5,110 total; 
• 	2/3 for qualifying reasons #4 and 6 below, up to $200 daily and $2,000 total; and
•	 Up to 12 weeks of paid sick leave and expanded family and medical leave paid at 2/3 for qualifying reason #5  	
 below for up to $200 daily and $12,000 total.

A part-time employee is eligible for leave for the number of hours that the employee is normally scheduled to work 
over that period.

► ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES
In general, employees of private sector employers with fewer than 500 employees, and certain public sector 
employers, are eligible for up to two weeks of fully or partially paid sick leave for COVID-19 related reasons (see below). 
Employees who have been employed for at least 30 days prior to their leave request may be eligible for up to an 
additional 10 weeks of partially paid expanded family and medical leave for reason #5 below.

► QUALIFYING REASONS FOR LEAVE RELATED TO COVID-19 
An employee is entitled to take leave related to COVID-19 if the employee is unable to work, including unable to 
telework, because the employee:

http://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd


1-866-487-9243
TTY: 1-877-889-5627
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OVERTIME PAY At least 1½ times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

CHILD LABOR An employee must be at least 16 years old to work in most non-farm jobs and at least 18 to work 
in non-farm jobs declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 years old may 
work outside school hours in various non-manufacturing, non-mining, non-hazardous jobs with 
certain work hours restrictions. Different rules apply in agricultural employment.

TIP CREDIT Employers of “tipped employees” who meet certain conditions may claim a partial wage credit 
based on tips received by their employees. Employers must pay tipped employees a cash wage 
of at least $2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit against their minimum wage obligation. If an 
employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage of at least $2.13 per hour do not equal 
the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference.

NURSING 
MOTHERS

The FLSA requires employers to provide reasonable break time for a nursing mother employee 
who is subject to the FLSA’s overtime requirements in order for the employee to express breast 
milk for her nursing child for one year after the child’s birth each time such employee has a need 
to express breast milk. Employers are also required to provide a place, other than a bathroom, 
that is shielded from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be 
used by the employee to express breast milk.

ENFORCEMENT The Department has authority to recover back wages and an equal amount in liquidated damages 
in instances of minimum wage, overtime, and other violations. The Department may litigate 
and/or recommend criminal prosecution. Employers may be assessed civil money penalties for 
each willful or repeated violation of the minimum wage or overtime pay provisions of the law. 
Civil money penalties may also be assessed for violations of the FLSA’s child labor provisions. 
Heightened civil money penalties may be assessed for each child labor violation that results in 
the death or serious injury of any minor employee, and such assessments may be doubled when 
the violations are determined to be willful or repeated. The law also prohibits retaliating against or 
discharging workers who file a complaint or participate in any proceeding under the FLSA.

ADDITIONAL 
INFORMATION

•	 Certain occupations and establishments are exempt from the minimum wage, and/or overtime 
pay provisions.

•	 Special provisions apply to workers in American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern 
Mariana Islands, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

•	 Some state laws provide greater employee protections; employers must comply with both.

•	 Some employers incorrectly classify workers as “independent contractors” when they are 
actually employees under the FLSA. It is important to know the difference between the two 
because employees (unless exempt) are entitled to the FLSA’s minimum wage and overtime 
pay protections and correctly classified independent contractors are not.

•	 Certain full-time students, student learners, apprentices, and workers with disabilities may be 
paid less than the minimum wage under special certificates issued by the Department of Labor.

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS 
UNDER THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT

The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it.

FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE

$7.25 PER HOUR

BEGINNING JULY 24, 2009

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
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OVERTIME PAY At least 1½ times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

Law enforcement and fire protection personnel: You may be paid overtime on the basis of 
a “work period” of between 7 and 28 consecutive days in length, rather than on a 40-hour 
workweek basis.

COMPENSATORY 
TIME

Employees may receive compensatory time off instead of cash overtime pay, at a rate of not 
less than 1½ hours for each overtime hour worked, where provided pursuant to an agreement or 
understanding that meets the requirements of the Act.

EXEMPTIONS �The Act does not apply to persons who are not subject to the civil service laws of State or local 
governments and who are: elected public officials, certain immediate advisors to such officials, 
certain individuals appointed or selected by such officials to serve in various capacities, or 
employees of legislative branches of State and local governments. Employees of legislative 
libraries do not come within this exclusion and are thus covered by the Act.

�Certain types of workers are exempt from the minimum wage and overtime pay provisions, 
including bona fide executive, administrative, and professional employees who meet regulatory 
requirements.

Any law enforcement or fire protection employee who in any workweek is employed by a public 
agency employing less than 5 employees in law enforcement or fire protection activities is 
exempt from the overtime pay provisions.

YOUTH 
EMPLOYMENT

16 years old is the minimum age for most occupations. An 18-year old minimum applies to 
hazardous occupations. Minors 14 and 15 years old may work outside school hours under 
certain conditions. For more information, visit the YouthRules! Web site at www.youthrules.dol.
gov.

ENFORCEMENT The Department has authority to recover back wages and an equal amount in liquidated 
damages in instances of minimum wage, overtime, and other violations. The Department may 
litigate and/or recommend criminal prosecution. Employers may be assessed civil money 
penalties for each willful or repeated violation of the minimum wage or overtime pay provisions 
of the law. Civil money penalties may also be assessed for violations of the FLSA’s child labor 
provisions. Heightened civil money penalties may be assessed for each child labor violation 
that results in the death or serious injury of any minor employee, and such assessments may 
be doubled when the violations are determined to be willful or repeated. The law also prohibits 
retaliating against or discharging workers who file a complaint or participate in any proceeding 
under the FLSA.

ADDITIONAL 
INFORMATION

•	 Some state laws provide greater employee protections; employers must comply with both.

• �Employees under 20 years of age may be paid a youth minimum wage of not less than $4.25 an 
hour during their first 90 consecutive calendar days after initial employment by an employer.

• �Employers are required to display this poster where employees can readily see it.

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS
UNDER THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT

The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it.

www.youthrules.dol.gov
www.youthrules.dol.gov


EMPLOYEE RIGHTS
UNDER THE FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

Eligible employees who work for a covered employer can take up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave in a 12-month period 
for the following reasons:

•	 The birth of a child or placement of a child for adoption or foster care;
•	 To bond with a child (leave must be taken within one year of the child’s birth or placement);
•	 To care for the employee’s spouse, child, or parent who has a qualifying serious health condition;
•	 For the employee’s own qualifying serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the employee’s job;
•	 For qualifying exigencies related to the foreign deployment of a military member who is the employee’s spouse, 

child, or parent.

An eligible employee who is a covered servicemember’s spouse, child, parent, or next of kin may also take up to 26 weeks 
of FMLA leave in a single 12-month period to care for the servicemember with a serious injury or illness. 

An employee does not need to use leave in one block. When it is medically necessary or otherwise permitted, employees 
may take leave intermittently or on a reduced schedule. 

Employees may choose, or an employer may require, use of accrued paid leave while taking FMLA leave. If an employee 
substitutes accrued paid leave for FMLA leave, the employee must comply with the employer’s normal paid leave policies.

While employees are on FMLA leave, employers must continue health insurance coverage as if the employees were not on leave. 

Upon return from FMLA leave, most employees must be restored to the same job or one nearly identical to it with 
equivalent pay, benefits, and other employment terms and conditions. 

An employer may not interfere with an individual’s FMLA rights or retaliate against someone for using or trying to use FMLA leave, 
opposing any practice made unlawful by the FMLA, or being involved in any proceeding under or related to the FMLA.  

An employee who works for a covered employer must meet three criteria in order to be eligible for FMLA leave. The employee must: 

•	 Have worked for the employer for at least 12 months; 
•	 Have at least 1,250 hours of service in the 12 months before taking leave;* and 
•	 Work at a location where the employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles of the employee’s worksite. 

*Special “hours of service” requirements apply to airline flight crew employees. 

Generally, employees must give 30-days’ advance notice of the need for FMLA leave. If it is not possible to give 30-days’ notice, 
an employee must notify the employer as soon as possible and, generally, follow the employer’s usual procedures. 

Employees do not have to share a medical diagnosis, but must provide enough information to the employer so it can determine 
if the leave qualifies for FMLA protection. Sufficient information could include informing an employer that the employee is or 
will be unable to perform his or her job functions, that a family member cannot perform daily activities, or that hospitalization or 
continuing medical treatment is necessary. Employees must inform the employer if the need for leave is for a reason for which 
FMLA leave was previously taken or certified.

Employers can require a certification or periodic recertification supporting the need for leave. If the employer determines that the 
certification is incomplete, it must provide a written notice indicating what additional information is required. 

Once an employer becomes aware that an employee’s need for leave is for a reason that may qualify under the FMLA, the 
employer must notify the employee if he or she is eligible for FMLA leave and, if eligible, must also provide a notice of rights and 
responsibilities under the FMLA. If the employee is not eligible, the employer must provide a reason for ineligibility.

Employers must notify its employees if leave will be designated as FMLA leave, and if so, how much leave will be designated as 
FMLA leave.    

Employees may file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, or may bring a private lawsuit 
against an employer.

The FMLA does not affect any federal or state law prohibiting discrimination or supersede any state or local law or collective 
bargaining agreement that provides greater family or medical leave rights.

LEAVE 
ENTITLEMENTS

BENEFITS &
PROTECTIONS

ELIGIBILITY  
REQUIREMENTS

1-866-4-USWAGE

www.dol.gov/whd

For additional information or to file a complaint:

(1-866-487-9243)     TTY: 1-877-889-5627

U.S. Department of Labor     Wage and Hour Division

 THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
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REQUESTING 
LEAVE

EMPLOYER 
RESPONSIBILITIES 

ENFORCEMENT 



Employee Rights
 Under the National Labor Relations Act

The National Labor Relations Act (NLRA) guarantees the right of employees to organize and bargain collectively with their 
employers, and to engage in other protected concerted activity or to refrain from engaging in any of the above activity. Employees 
covered by the NLRA* are protected from certain types of employer and union misconduct. This Notice gives you general information 
about your rights, and about the obligations of employers and unions under the NLRA. Contact the National Labor Relations Board 
(NLRB), the Federal agency that investigates and resolves complaints under the NLRA, using the contact information supplied 
below, if you have any questions about specific rights that may apply in your particular workplace.

Under the NLRA, you have the right to:
• �Organize a union to negotiate with your employer concerning your wages, hours, and other terms and conditions  

of employment. 
• Form, join or assist a union. 
• �Bargain collectively through representatives of employees’ own choosing for a contract with your employer setting your wages, 

benefits, hours, and other working conditions. 
• �Discuss your wages and benefits and other terms and conditions of employment or union organizing with your co-workers  

or a union.
• �Take action with one or more co-workers to improve your working conditions by, among other means, raising work-related 

complaints directly with your employer or with a government agency, and seeking help from a union. 
• Strike and picket, depending on the purpose or means of the strike or the picketing. 
• Choose not to do any of these activities, including joining or remaining a member of a union. 

Illegal conduct will not be permitted. If you believe your rights or the rights of others have been violated, you should contact the 
NLRB promptly to protect your rights, generally within six months of the unlawful activity. You may inquire about possible violations 
without your employer or anyone else being informed of the inquiry. Charges may be filed by any person and need not be filed by 
the employee directly affected by the violation. The NLRB may order an employer to rehire a worker fired in violation of the law and 
to pay lost wages and benefits, and may order an employer or union to cease violating the law. Employees should seek assistance 
from the nearest regional NLRB office, which can be found on the Agency’s Web site: http://www.nlrb.gov. 

You can also contact the NLRB by calling toll-free: 1-866-667-NLRB (6572) or (TTY) 1-866-315-NLRB (1-866-315-6572)  
for hearing impaired.

If you do not speak or understand English well, you may obtain a translation of this notice from the NLRB’s Web site or by calling  
the toll-free numbers listed above.

Under the NLRA, it is illegal for your employer to:
• �Prohibit you from talking about or soliciting for a union 

during non-work time, such as before or after work or 
during break times; or from distributing union literature 
during non-work time, in non-work areas, such as parking 
lots or break rooms. 

• �Question you about your union support or activities in a 
manner that discourages you from engaging in that activity. 

• �Fire, demote, or transfer you, or reduce your hours or 
change your shift, or otherwise take adverse action against 
you, or threaten to take any of these actions, because 
you join or support a union, or because you engage 
in concerted activity for mutual aid and protection, or 
because you choose not to engage in any such activity. 

• �Threaten to close your workplace if workers choose a 
union to represent them. 

• �Promise or grant promotions, pay raises, or other benefits 
to discourage or encourage union support. 

• �Prohibit you from wearing union hats, buttons, t-shirts, and 
pins in the workplace except under special circumstances.

• �Spy on or videotape peaceful union activities and 
gatherings or pretend to do so. 

Under the NLRA, it is illegal for a union or for the 
union that represents you in bargaining with your 
employer to:

• �Threaten or coerce you in order to gain your support  
for the union. 

• ��Refuse to process a grievance because you have  
criticized union officials or because you are not a  
member of the union. 

• �Use or maintain discriminatory standards or procedures  
in making job referrals from a hiring hall. 

• �Cause or attempt to cause an employer to discriminate 
against you because of your union-related activity. 

• ��Take adverse action against you because you have not 
joined or do not support the union. 

If you and your co-workers select a union to act as your 
collective bargaining representative, your employer  
and the union are required to bargain in good faith in  
a genuine effort to reach a written, binding agreement 
setting your terms and conditions of employment. The 
union is required to fairly represent you in bargaining  
and enforcing the agreement.

*�The National Labor Relations Act covers most private-sector employers. Excluded from coverage under the NLRA are public-sector employees, agricultural 
and domestic workers, independent contractors, workers employed by a parent or spouse, employees of air and rail carriers covered by the Railway Labor 
Act, and supervisors (although supervisors that have been discriminated against for refusing to violate the NLRA may be covered).

This is an official Government Notice and must not be defaced by anyone.
September 2011



ISERRA (state version of USERRA) protects the employment  
and benefits of Servicemembers who leave their civilian  
employment to serve our Nation or State.

YOUR RIGHTS UNDER THE  ILLINOIS
SERVICEMEMBER EMPLOYMENT  &

REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT (330 ILCS 61)

 

In order to protect the common public interest in military  
service, it is the role of the Illinois Attorney General to promote 
awareness and ensure compliance of ISERRA by providing  
information, training, advocacy, and enforcement.

WHO IS PROTECTED?  
1.	 All members of the Armed Forces of the United States whether active duty or reserve including the 

National Guard when performing state duty.
2.	 All members of Military Auxiliary Radio System, United States Coast Guard Reserve, Civil Air Patrol, 

and the Merchant Marines when performing official duties in support of an emergency.
3.	 Members who are released from military duty with follow-on care by the Department of Defense.

WHAT ARE THE RIGHTS, BENEFITS AND OBLIGATIONS UNDER ISERRA?   
ISERRA provides the same protections as USERRA (i.e., reemployment, benefits and discrimination) but 
expands protections to persons identified above and incorporates existing benefits to servicemembers 
who are public employees.  Because ISERRA represents the minimum employer requirements, employers 
maintain the discretion to provide greater benefits. Entitlement to benefits will depend on many factors. 

WHO ENFORCES ISERRA?  
The ISERRA Advocate is an Assistant Attorney General appointed by the Illinois Attorney General to  
provide both advocacy and enforcement under ISERRA. 

WHERE TO FIND MORE INFORMATION?  
Both servicemembers and employers can find more information on the Attorney General’s ISERRA 
Advocate webpage at www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/rights/veterans.html or call the Military & 
Veterans Rights Hotline at 1-800-382-3000 to ask questions or request training.  

This notice is available for download on the Attorney General’s website by going 
to www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/rights/veterans.html. Employers are required 
to provide employees entitled to rights and benefits under ISERRA a notice of the 
rights, benefits, and obligations of servicemember employees. This requirement 
may be met by the posting of this notice where employers customarily place 
notices for employees. ISERRA is codified as Public Act 100-1101 and can be found 
at www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/100/PDF/100-1101.pdf.

Printed by authority of the State of Illinois. 10/18
This material is available in alternate format upon request.



 

Know Your Rights  
Under the Recovery Act! 

Did you know?   

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 1

• gross mismanagement of an agency contract or grant relating to recovery funds;  

 provides protections for certain 
employees of non-federal employers who make specified disclosures relating to possible fraud, 
waste and/or abuse or Recovery Act funds. 

Who is protected?  
 
Employees of non-federal employers receiving recovery funds. This includes State and local 
governments, contractors, subcontractors, grantees or professional membership organizations 
acting in the interest of recovery fund recipients. 
 
How are Whistleblowers Protected? 
 
You cannot be discharged, demoted or otherwise discriminated against as a reprisal for making a 
protected disclosure. 
 
What types of disclosures are protected? 
 
The disclosure must be made by the employee to the Recovery Accountability and Transparency 
Board, an Inspector General, the Comptroller General, a member of Congress, a state or federal 
regulatory or law enforcement agency, a person with supervisory authority over the employee, a 
court or grand jury, or the head of a federal agency or his/her representatives. 
 
The disclosure must involve information that the employee believes is evidence of: 

• a gross waste of recovery funds;  
• a substantial and specific danger to public health or safety related to the implementation 

or use of recovery funds;  
• an abuse of authority related to the implementation or use of recovery funds; or  
• a violation of law, rule, or regulation related to an agency contract or grant awarded or 

issued relating to recovery funds.  

Take Action! 
 
Log on to Recovery.gov for more information about your rights and details on how to report at   
www.recovery.gov. 

                                                           
1 Section 1553 of Division A, Title XV of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, P.L. 111-5 
 

http://www.recovery.gov/?q=content/fraud-waste-and-abuse�
http://www.oig.dot.gov/files/Recovery_Act.pdf#page=183�




Break Time for 
Nursing Mothers
under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires employers to provide break time and space 
for a covered nonexempt nursing mother to express breast milk for her nursing child for 
one year after her child’s birth.

• �Employers must allow reasonable break time whenever a covered employee needs
to express breast milk.

• Employers must provide covered employees with space that is:

— functional for expressing milk 
— shielded from view 
— free from intrusion 
— available as needed, AND 
— NOT a bathroom.

If an employer has fewer than 50 employees AND can demonstrate that compliance with 
this law would impose an undue hardship on the employer, that employer does not have to 
provide nursing breaks.

Note: The FLSA requirement of break time for nursing mothers to express breast milk 
does not preempt state laws that provide greater protections to employees (for example, 
providing compensated break time, providing break time for exempt employees, or providing 
break time beyond one year after the child’s birth).

UNLAWFUL ACTS

Any employee who is “discharged or in any other manner discriminated against” because 
he or she has filed a complaint or cooperated in an investigation may file a retaliation 
complaint with the Wage and Hour Division or directly in court seeking appropriate remedies.

WHD 1-866-4US-WAGE
www.dol.gov/whd

WH1527 1218



 

Job Safety and Health
IT’S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

�� A safe workplace.

�� Raise a safety or health concern with 
your employer or OSHA, or report a work-
related injury or illness, without being 
retaliated against. 

�� Receive information and training on 
job hazards, including all hazardous 
substances in your workplace. 

�� Request a confidential OSHA inspection 
of your workplace if you believe there are 
unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have 
the right to have a representative contact 
OSHA on your behalf.

�� Participate (or have your representative 
participate) in an OSHA inspection and 
speak in private to the inspector.

�� File a complaint with OSHA within 
30 days (by phone, online or by mail) 
if you have been retaliated against for 
using your rights. 

�� See any OSHA citations issued to 
your employer.

�� Request copies of your medical 
records, tests that measure hazards 
in the workplace, and the workplace 
injury and illness log.

Employers must:

�� Provide employees a workplace free from 
recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate 
against an employee for using any of their 
rights under the law, including raising a 
health and safety concern with you or 
with OSHA, or reporting a work-related 
injury or illness.

�� Comply with all applicable OSHA standards. 

�� Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a 
workplace fatality or within 24 hours of 
any work-related inpatient hospitalization, 
amputation, or loss of an eye.

�� Provide required training to all workers 
in a language and vocabulary they can 
understand. 

�� Prominently display this poster in the 
workplace.

�� Post OSHA citations at or near the 
place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are 
available to small and medium-sized 
employers, without citation or penalty, 
through OSHA‑supported consultation 
programs in every state.

U.S. Department of Labor

Contact OSHA. We can help. 

1-800-321-OSHA (6742)  •  TTY 1-877-889-5627  •  www.osha.gov

This poster is available free from OSHA.
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Job Safety and Health 
Required Posting for Public Sector Employers 

 
 

EMPLOYEES: 
•  You have the  right to notify your employer or IDOL about 

workplace hazards. Your name can remain confidential 
upon request. 

 

•  You have the  right to request an  IDOL inspection if you 
believe that there are  unsafe or unhealthy working conditions 
in your workplace. You or your representative may participate 
in that inspection. 

 

•  You have the  right to see IDOL citations issued to your 
employer. 

 

•  You must comply with  all occupational safety and health 
standards issued under the  Acts that apply to your own 
actions and conduct on the  job. 

 

•  You can  file a complaint with  IDOL within 30 days of 
retaliation or discrimination by your employer for making 
safety and health complaints or for exercising your rights 
under the Acts. 

 

•  You have the  right to copies of your medical records and 
records of your exposures to toxic  and harmful substances 
or conditions. 

EMPLOYERS: 
•  You must furnish your employees a place of employment 

free  from recognized hazards. 
 

•  You must comply with  the  occupational safety and health 
standards issued under this Act. 

•  You must post this notice in your workplace. 
 

•  You must post any  citations issued by IDOL at or near the 
place of the  alleged violation(s). 

 

•  You must correct workplace hazards by the  date indicated 
on the  citation and must certify that these hazards have 
been reduced or eliminated. 

 

NOTIFICATIONS: 
 
 
 
 
 

www.osha.illinois.gov 
 

160 N. LaSalle Street, C-1300 900 South Spring Street OSHA Region V 
Chicago, IL  60601 Springfield, IL  62704 230 S. Dearborn St., Room 3200 

(312) 793-7308 (217) 782-9386 Chicago, IL  60601 
(312) 793-2081 fax (217) 785-8776 fax (312) 353-2220 

 
  (312) 353-7774 fax 

Printed by the Authority of the State of Illinois. IL45240-10/10  5M  IOCI 0000-11 

Within eight(8) hours after the death of any public sector employee from a work-related 
incident or the in-patient hospitalization of one (1) or more employees as a result of a 
work-related incident, you must orally report the fatality/hospitalization by telephone 
24/7 Notification – (800) 782-7860 

The Illinois Occupational Safety & Health Act [820 ILCS 219] provides job 
safety and health protection for employees of State and local government 
agencies. The Illinois State Plan is a developmental plan partially-funded by 
federal OSHA.  Any concerns regarding the administration of this program can 
be forwarded to OSHA Region V. 

 

http://www.state.il.us/agency/idol


PAY TRANSPARENCY
NONDISCRIMINATION PROVISION

The contractor will not discharge or in any other manner discriminate 

against employees or applicants because they have inquired about, 

discussed, or disclosed their own pay or the pay of another employee or 

applicant. However, employees who have access to the compensation 

information of other employees or applicants as a part of their essential 

job functions cannot disclose the pay of other employees or applicants to 

individuals who do not otherwise have access to compensation information, 

unless the disclosure is (a) in response to a formal complaint or charge, (b) 

in furtherance of an investigation, proceeding, hearing, or action, including an 

investigation conducted by the employer, or (c) consistent with the 

contractor’s legal duty to furnish information. 41 CFR 60-1.35(c)

If you believe that you have experienced discrimination contact OFCCP
1.800.397.6251 | TTY 1.877.889.5627 | www.dol.gov/ofccp

200 CONSTITUTION AVENUE NW   WASHINGTON, DC 20210   tel: 1-800-397-6251   TTY: 1-877-889-5627   www.dol.gov/ofccp



PREGNANCY
and your

RIGHTS in the
WORKPLACE

Are you pregnant, recovering from childbirth, or do
you have a medical or common condition related to
pregnancy?

• Ask your employer for a reasonable accommodation for your pregnancy,

such as more frequent bathroom breaks, assistance with heavy work, a 

private space for expressing milk, or time off to recover from your 

pregnancy.

• Reject an unsolicited accommodation offered by your employer for your

pregnancy.

• Continue working during your pregnancy if a reasonable 

accommodation is available which would allow you to continue 

performing your job.

State of Illinois
Department of Human Rights

If so, you have the right to:

• Discriminate against you because of your pregnancy.

• Retaliate against you because you requested a reasonable 

accommodation.

Your employer cannot:



It is illegal for your employer to fire you, refuse to hire you or to refuse to

provide you with a reasonable accommodation because of your pregnancy.

For more information regarding your rights, download the Illinois

Department of Human Rights’ fact sheet from our website at

www.illinois.gov/dhr

Es ilegal que su empleador la despida, se niegue a contratarla o a

proporcionarle una adaptación razonable a causa de su embarazo.

Para obtener información sobre el embarazo y sus derechos en el

lugar de trabajo en español, visite: www.illinois.gov/dhr

CHICAGO OFFICE

100 West Randolph Street,

10th Floor

Intake Unit

Chicago, IL 60601

(312) 814-6200

SPRINGFIELD OFFICE

222 South College St.,

Room 101-A

Intake Unit

Springfield, IL 62704

(217) 785-5100

Printed by the Authority of the State of Illinois  .  IDHR ENG  .  web  .  (02/17)  .  IOCI17-0405

PREGNANCY and your

RIGHTS in the WORKPLACE

For immediate help or if you have questions
regarding your rights.

Call (312) 814-6200 or (217) 785-5100 or (866) 740-3953 (TTY)

The charge process may be initiated by completing the form at:
http://www.illinois.gov/dhr



YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM
JOB DISCRIMINATION AND SEXUAL HARASSMENT.

The Illinois Human Rights Act states that you have the right to be free from 
unlawful discrimination and sexual harassment. This means that employers 
may not treat people differently based on race, age, gender, pregnancy, disability, 
sexual orientation or any other protected class named in the Act. This applies to 
all employer actions, including hiring, promotion, discipline and discharge.

REASONABLE ACCOMMODATIONS 
You also have the right to reasonable accommodations 
based on pregnancy and disability. This means you can 
ask for reasonable changes to your job if needed because 
you are pregnant or disabled.

RETALIATION
It is also unlawful for employers to treat people differently because they have 
reported discrimination, participated in an investigation, or helped others exercise 
their right to complain about discrimination.

REPORT DISCRIMINATION
To report discrimination, you may:
1.	 Contact your employer’s human resources or personnel department.
2.	 Contact the Illinois Department of Human Rights (IDHR) to file a charge.
3.	 Call the Illinois Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Helpline at 1-877-236-7703 to talk to 	
	 someone about your concerns.

Website: www.illinois.gov/dhr
Email: IDHR.Intake@illinois.gov

Chicago:
James R. Thompson Center
100 West Randolph Street, Suite 10-100
Chicago, IL 60601
(312) 814-6200
(866) 740-3953 (TTY)
(312) 814-6251 (Fax)

Springfield:
535 W. Jefferson Street
1st Floor
Springfield, IL 62702
(217) 785-5100
(866) 740-3953 (TTY)
(217) 785-5106 (Fax)

Employers shall make this poster available and display it where employees can readily see it.
This notice is available for download at: www.illinois.gov/dhr

Printed by the Authority of the State of Illinois  .  9/18  .  web version  .  IOCI19-0181



NO SMOKING

IOCI 12-55

To file a complaint:
www.smoke-free.illinois.gov

866-973-4646
TTY 800-547-0466 (hearing impaired use only)Smoke-Free Illinois Act 95-0017

State of Illinois
Illinois Department of Public Health 

Indoors or Within 15 Feet of Entrance



FILING A CLAIM

-

.

BENEFITS

REPORTING TIPS

TAXATION OF BENEFITS

If Your Benefit Year Begins: Your Base Period Will Be:

This year between: Last year between:

Jan. 1 and March 31 Jan. 1 and Sept. 30 and
the year before between
Oct. 1 and Dec. 31

This year between: Last year between:

April 1 and June 30 Jan. 1 and Dec. 31

This year between: Last year between:

July 1 and Sept. 30 April 1 and Dec. 31 and
this year between 
Jan. 1 and March 31

This year between: Last year between:

Oct. 1 and Dec. 31 July 1 and Dec. 31 and
this year between
Jan. 1 and June 30

This poster fulfills all posting requirements for the Illinois Department of Employment Security.
EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED TO POST THIS NOTICE IN A CONSPICUOUS PLACE FOR ALL EMPLOYEES.

Printed by the Authority of the State of Illinois   Stock Number 4427/ BEN-57  (rev. 8/12) 

NOTICE  to workers about
Unemployment

Insurance Benefits

Illinois Department of Employment Security

THE POSTING OF THIS NOTICE IS REQUIRED BY THE ILLINOIS UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ACT.

The Illinois Unemployment Insurance Act provides for the payment of benefits 
to eligible unemployed workers and for the collection of employer 
contributions from liable employers. It is designed to provide living expenses 
while new employment is sought. Claims should be filed as soon as possible 
after separation from employment. Claims can be filed online at 
www.ides.illinois.gov or at the nearest Illinois Department of 
Employment Security office to the worker’s home. To be eligible for benefits, 
an  unemployed individual must be available for work, able to work and 
actively seeking work and, in addition, must not be disqualified under any 
provisions of the Illinois Unemployment Insurance Act.

Each employer shall deliver the pamphlet “What Every Worker Should Know 
About Unemployment Insurance” to each worker separated from employment 
for an expected duration of seven or more days. The pamphlet shall be 
delivered to the worker at the time of separation or, if delivery is 
impracticable, mailed within five days after the date of the separation to the 
worker’s last known address. Pamphlets shall be supplied by the Illinois 
Department of Employment Security to each employer without cost. 

A claimant may also be entitled to receive, in addition to the weekly benefit 
amount, an allowance for a non-working spouse or a dependent child or 
children. The allowance is a percentage of the average weekly wage of the 
claimant in his or her base period. The weekly benefit amount plus any 
allowance for a dependent make up the total amount payable. 

If, during a calendar week an employee does not work full-time because of 
lack of work, he or she may be eligible for partial benefits if the wages 
earned in such calendar week are less than his or her weekly benefit amount. 
For any such week, employers should provide employees with a statement of 
“low earnings” which should be taken to their Illinois Department of 
Employment Security office.

Every claimant who files a new claim for unemployment insurance benefits
must serve an unpaid waiting week for which he has filed and is otherwise
eligible. 

The claimant’s weekly benefit amount is usually a percentage of the worker’s 
average weekly wage. The worker’s average weekly wage is computed by 
dividing the wages paid during the two highest quarters of the base period 
by 26. The maximum weekly benefit amount is a percentage of the statewide 
average weekly wage. The minimum weekly benefit amount is $51. The 
statewide average weekly wage is calculated each year.

In order to be monetarily eligible, a claimant must be paid a minimum of 
$1,600 during the base period with at least $440 of that amount being paid 
outside the highest calendar quarter.

If you have been awarded temporary total disability benefits under a workers’ 
compensation act or other similar acts, or if you only have worked within the 
last few months, your base period may be determined differently. Contact 
your local IDES office for more information.

Each employee who receives tips must report these tips to employers on a 
written statement or on Form UC-51, “Employee’s Report of Tips,” in 
duplicate. Employers can furnish this form on request. The report shall be 
submitted on the day the wages are paid, or not later than the next payday, 
and shall include the amount of tips received during the pay period.

Unemployment insurance benefits are taxable if you are required to file a 
state or federal income tax return. You may choose to have federal and/or 
Illinois state income tax withheld from your weekly benefits. Since benefits are 
not subject to mandatory income tax withholding, if you do not choose to 
withhold, you may be required to make estimated tax payments using Internal 
Revenue Service Form 1040 ES and Illinois Department of Revenue Form IL 
1040 ES.

For additional information, call these toll-free numbers:
Internal Revenue Service 1-800-829-1040.
Illinois Department of Revenue 1-800-732-8866.

NOTE: Illinois unemployment insurance benefits are paid from a trust fund to which 
only employers contribute. No deductions may be made from the wages of workers for 
this purpose.

Unemployment insurance information is available from any Illinois Department of 
Employment Security office. To locate the office nearest you, call 1-800-244-5631 or 
access the locations though our website at www.ides.illinois.gov.
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✩✩ The U.S. Department of Labor, Veterans Employment and Training 
Service (VETS) is authorized to investigate and resolve complaints 
of USERRA violations.

✩✩ For assistance in filing a complaint, or for any other information on 
USERRA, contact VETS at 1-866-4-USA-DOL or visit its website at 
http://www.dol.gov/vets.  An interactive online USERRA Advisor can 
be viewed at http://www.dol.gov/elaws/userra.htm.

✩✩ If you file a complaint with VETS and VETS is unable to resolve it, 
you may request that your case be referred to the Department 
of Justice or the Office of Special Counsel, as applicable, for 
representation.

✩✩ You may also bypass the VETS process and bring a civil action 
against an employer for violations of USERRA.

YOUR RIGHTS UNDER USERRA 
THE UNIFORMED SERVICES EMPLOYMENT  

AND REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT
USERRA protects the job rights of individuals who voluntarily or involuntarily leave employment positions to undertake 

military service or certain types of service in the National Disaster Medical System.  USERRA also prohibits employers from 
discriminating against past and present members of the uniformed services, and applicants to the uniformed services.

REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS
You have the right to be reemployed in your civilian job if you leave that 
job to perform service in the uniformed service and:

✩✩ you ensure that your employer receives advance written or verbal 
notice of your service;

✩✩ you have five years or less of cumulative service in the uniformed 
services while with that particular employer;

✩✩ you return to work or apply for reemployment in a timely manner 
after conclusion of service; and

✩✩ you have not been separated from service with a disqualifying 
discharge or under other than honorable conditions.

If you are eligible to be reemployed, you must be restored to the job 
and benefits you would have attained if you had not been absent due to 
military service or, in some cases, a comparable job.

RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM DISCRIMINATION AND RETALIATION
If you:

✩✩ are a past or present member of the uniformed service; 
✩✩ have applied for membership in the uniformed service; or
✩✩ are obligated to serve in the uniformed service;

then an employer may not deny you:

✩✩ initial employment;
✩✩ reemployment;
✩✩ retention in employment;
✩✩ promotion; or
✩✩ any benefit of employment

because of this status.

In addition, an employer may not retaliate against anyone assisting in 
the enforcement of USERRA rights, including testifying or making a 
statement in connection with a proceeding under USERRA, even if that 
person has no service connection. 

HEALTH INSURANCE PROTECTION
✩✩ If you leave your job to perform military service, you have the right 

to elect to continue your existing employer-based health plan 
coverage for you and your dependents for up to 24 months while in 
the military.

✩✩ Even if you don’t elect to continue coverage during your military 
service, you have the right to be reinstated in your employer’s 
health plan when you are reemployed, generally without any waiting 
periods or exclusions (e.g., pre-existing condition exclusions) except 
for service-connected illnesses or injuries.

ENFORCEMENT

The rights listed here may vary depending on the circumstances.  The text of this notice was prepared by VETS, and may be viewed on the internet at this 
address: http://www.dol.gov/vets/programs/userra/poster.htm.  Federal law requires employers to notify employees of their rights under USERRA, and employers 
may meet this requirement by displaying the text of this notice where they customarily place notices for employees.

U.S. Department of Labor
1-866-487-2365

U.S. Department of Justice Office of Special Counsel 1-800-336-4590
Publication Date — April 2017

H H

http://www.dol.gov/vets
http://www.dol.gov/elaws/userra.htm
http://www.dol.gov/vets/programs/userra/poster.htm
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WORKER RIGHTS 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The law requires certain employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it. 
 

MINIMUM WAGE Executive Order 13658 (EO) requires that federal contractors pay workers performing work on or in 

connection with covered contracts at least (1) $10.10 per hour beginning January 1, 2015, and (2) 

beginning January 1, 2016, and every year thereafter, an inflation-adjusted amount determined by 

the Secretary of Labor in accordance with the EO and appropriate regulations. The EO hourly 

minimum wage in effect from January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2019 is $10.60. 
  

TIPS Covered tipped employees must be paid a cash wage of at least $7.40 per hour effective January 1, 

2019-December 31, 2019. If a worker’s tips combined with the required cash wage of at least $7.40 

per hour paid by the contractor do not equal the EO hourly minimum wage for contractors, the 

contractor must increase the cash wage paid to make up the difference. Certain other conditions 

must also be met. 

  

EXCLUSIONS • Some workers who provide support “in connection with” covered contracts for less than 20 

percent of their hours worked in a week may not be entitled to the EO minimum wage. 

• Certain full-time students, learners, and apprentices who are employed under subminimum wage 

certificates are not entitled to the EO minimum wage. 

• Workers employed on contracts for seasonal recreational services or seasonal recreational 

equipment rental for the general public on federal lands, except when the workers are performing 

associated lodging and food services, are not entitled to the EO minimum wage. 

• Certain other occupations and workers are also exempt from the EO. 

  

ENFORCEMENT The U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (WHD) is responsible for enforcing the 

EO. WHD can answer questions, in person or by telephone, about your workplace rights and 

protections. We can investigate employers, recover wages to which workers may be entitled, and 

pursue appropriate sanctions against covered contractors. All services are free and confidential. 

The law also prohibits discriminating against or discharging workers who file a complaint or 

participate in any proceeding under the EO. If you are unable to file a complaint in English, WHD 

will accept the complaint in any language. You can find your nearest WHD office at 

https://www.dol.gov/whd/local/. 
  

ADDITIONAL 
INFORMATION 
 

• The EO applies only to new federal construction and service contracts, as defined by the 

Secretary in the regulations. 

• Workers with disabilities whose wages are governed by special certificates issued under section 

14(c) of the Fair Labor Standards Act must also receive no less than the full EO minimum wage 

rate. 

• Some state or local laws may provide greater worker protections; employers must comply with 

both. 

• More information about the EO is available at: www.dol.gov/whd/flsa/eo13658. 
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PAID SICK LEAVE Executive Order 13706, Establishing Paid Sick Leave for Federal 
Contractors, requires certain employers that contract with the Federal 
Government to provide employees working on or in connection with 
those contracts with 1 hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours they 
work—up to 56 hours of paid sick leave each year.

Employees must be permitted to use paid sick leave for their own 
illness, injury, or other health-related needs, including preventive care; 
to assist a family member who is ill, injured, or has other health-related 
needs, including preventive care; or for reasons resulting from, or to 
assist a family member who is the victim of, domestic violence, sexual 
assault, or stalking.

Employers are required to inform employees of their paid sick leave 
balances and must approve all valid requests to use paid sick leave. 
Rules about when and how employees should ask to use paid 
sick leave also apply. More information about the paid sick leave 
requirements is available at www.dol.gov/whd/govcontracts/eo13706

ENFORCEMENT The Wage and Hour Division (WHD), which is responsible for making 
sure employers comply with Executive Order 13706, has offices across 
the country. WHD can answer questions, in person or by telephone, 
about your workplace rights and protections. WHD can investigate 
employers and recover wages to which workers may be entitled. All 
services are free and confidential. If you are unable to file a complaint 
in English, WHD will accept the complaint in any language.

The law prohibits discriminating against or discharging workers who 
file a complaint or participate in any proceeding under the Executive 
Order.

ADDITIONAL 
INFORMATION

Executive Order 13706 applies to new contracts and replacements for 
expiring contracts with the Federal Government starting January 1, 
2017. It applies to federal contracts for construction and many types 
of federal contracts for services.

Some state and local laws also require that employees be provided 
with paid sick leave. Employers must comply with all applicable 
requirements.

WORKER RIGHTS 
UNDER EXECUTIVE ORDER 13706

PAID SICK LEAVE FOR 

FEDERAL CONTRACTORS
ONE HOUR OF PAID SICK LEAVE FOR EVERY 30 
HOURS WORKED, UP TO 56 HOURS EACH YEAR

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR



WORKERS' 

COMPENSATION 

 
 
is a system of benefits provided by law to most workers who have job-related injuries or illnesses.  Benefits are paid for 
injuries that are caused, in whole or in part, by an employee's work.  This may include the aggravation of a pre-existing 
condition, injuries brought on by the repetitive use of a part of the body, heart attacks, or any other physical problem caused 
by work.  Benefits are paid regardless of fault.   
 

IF YOU HAVE A WORK-RELATED INJURY OR ILLNESS, TAKE THE FOLLOWING STEPS: 
 

1. GET MEDICAL ASSISTANCE.  By law, your employer must pay for all necessary medical services required to cure 
or relieve the effects of the injury or illness.  Where necessary, the employer must also pay for physical, mental, or 
vocational rehabilitation, within prescribed limits.  The employee may choose two physicians, surgeons, or hospitals.  If 
the employer notifies you that it has an approved Preferred Provider Program for workers’ compensation, the PPP counts 
as one of your two choices of providers.   

 

2. NOTIFY YOUR EMPLOYER.  You must notify your employer of the accidental injury or illness within 45 days, 
either orally or in writing.  To avoid possible delays, it is recommended the notice also include your name, address, 
telephone number, Social Security number, and a brief description of the injury or illness. 

 

3. LEARN YOUR RIGHTS.  Your employer is required by law to report accidents that result in more than three lost 
work days to the Workers’ Compensation Commission.  Once the accident is reported, you should receive a handbook that 
explains the law, benefits, and procedures.  If you need a handbook, please call the Commission or go to the Web site. 

 

 If you must lose time from work to recover from the injury or illness, you may be entitled to receive weekly payments and 
necessary medical care until you are able to return to work that is reasonably available to you.   

 

 It is against the law for an employer to harass, discharge, refuse to rehire or in any way discriminate against an employee 
for exercising his or her rights under the Workers' Compensation or Occupational Diseases Acts.  If you file a fraudulent 
claim, you may be penalized under the law. 

 

4. KEEP WITHIN THE TIME LIMITS.  Generally, claims must be filed within three years of the injury or 
disablement from an occupational disease, or within two years of the last workers' compensation payment, whichever is 
later.  Claims for pneumoconiosis, radiological exposure, asbestosis, or similar diseases have special requirements. 

 

 Injured workers have the right to reopen their case within 30 months after an award is made if the disability increases, but 
cases that are resolved by a lump-sum settlement contract approved by the Commission cannot be reopened.  Only 
settlements approved by the Commission are binding. 

 

For more information, go to the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission’s Web site or call any office:  
 

Toll-free: 866/352-3033 Chicago: 312/814-6611 Peoria: 309/671-3019 Springfield: 217/785-7087 
Web site: www.iwcc.il.gov Collinsville: 618/346-3450 Rockford: 815/987-7292 TDD (Deaf): 312/814-2959 
 

BY LAW, EMPLOYERS MUST DISPLAY THIS NOTICE IN A PROMINENT PLACE  
IN EACH WORKPLACE AND COMPLETE THE INFORMATION BELOW. 

Party handling workersʼ 
compensation claims 

     

 

Business address 

     

 

Business phone 

     

 

Effective date 

     

 Termination date 

     

 

Policy number 

     

 Employer's FEIN 
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Minimum Wage $8.25 per hour
and Overtime
• Coverage: Applies to employers with 4 or more

employees.  Certain workers are not covered by the
Minimum Wage Law and some workers may be paid
less than the minimum wage under limited conditions.
For more information, visit our website.

• Tipped Employees: Must be paid at least 60% of the
applicable minimum wage.  If an employee’s tips
combined with the wages from the employer do not
equal the minimum wage, the employer must make
up the difference.

• Overtime: Most hourly employees and some salaried
employees are covered by the overtime law and
must be compensated at time and one-half of their
regular pay for hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

Hotline:  1-800-478-3998

Unpaid Wages
Wage Payment and Collection Act
• Employees must receive their final compensation,

including earned wages, vacation pay, commissions
and bonuses on their next regularly scheduled payday.

• Unauthorized deductions from paychecks are not
allowed except as specified by law.

Phone: 312-793-2808

Equal Pay for Equal Work
Equal Pay Act
Requires employers to pay equal wages to men and
women doing the same or substantially similar work,
unless such wage differences are based upon a seniority
system, a merit system, or factors other than gender. 
Hotline:  1-866-EPA-IDOL

Domestic or Sexual Violence Leave
Victims’ Economic Security and Safety Act
Provides employees who are victims of domestic or
sexual violence, or who have family members who are
victims, with up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave during a
12-month period.
Phone:  312-793-6797

Meal and Rest Periods
One Day Rest in Seven Act
• Provides employees with 24 consecutive hours of

rest each calendar week.

• Employers may obtain permits from the Department
allowing employees to voluntarily work seven
consecutive days.

• Employees working 7 1/2 continuous hours must be
allowed a meal period of at least 20 minutes no later
than 5 hours after the start of work.

Phone:  312-793-2804

Child Labor
Workers under Age 16
• Children under the age of 14 may not work in most

jobs, except under limited conditions.

• 14 and 15-year-olds may work if the following
requirements are met:

• Employment certificates have been issued by the
school district and filed with the Department of
Labor confirming that a minor is old enough to
work, physically capable to perform the job, and
that the job will not interfere with the minor’s
education;

• The work is not deemed a hazardous occupation
(a full listing can be found on our website);

• Work is limited to 3 hours per day on school days,
8 hours per day on non-school days and no more
than 6 days or 48 hours per week; 

• Work is performed only between the hours of 7 a.m.
to 7 p.m. during the school year (7 a.m. to 9 p.m.
June through September); and

• A 30-minute meal period is provided no later than
the fifth hour of work.

Hotline:  1-800-645-5784

Printed by the Authority of the State of Illinois.  IL452-5/13  2M  IOCI 13--580

Your Rights Under
Illinois Employment Laws

Your Rights Under
Illinois Employment Laws

This is a summary of laws that satisfies Illinois Department of Labor posting requirements.  For a complete text of the laws, visit our website at:

www.labor.illinois.gov
For more information or to file a complaint, contact us at:

160 N. LaSalle St, Suite C-1300, Chicago, IL 60601 • Chicago 312.793.2800 • Springfield 217.782.6206 • Marion 618.993.7090
.THIS POSTER MUST BE DISPLAYED WHERE EMPLOYEES CAN EASILY SEE IT.
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